They will not let me listen to music anymore

Is it any wonder that the music industry and in particular commercial radio is losing popularity when a body called the PRS is doing its upmost to kill the industry by stifling the listeners.

The music industry is in shreds and instead of dealing with the issues of file sharing and downloads, the target appears to be the people who would listen to and enjoy music legally.

Today I recieved a call from an official or Herr Oberst of the PRS. He was aggressive, suggesting most strongly that I would need a license come what may. Failure to purchase a license would result in action being taken against me. They did not enquire whether or not I listened to music, but asked whether I was aware that by listening to music in the workplace I was obliged to buy a license. Only later in the call did he bother to ask if I actually listened to music.

He went through a list of items that could transmit music and asked if they were present in the work place. I explained that the work place is in fact an office with no employees or access to the general public. I tried to assure him that only I and my partner would potentially listen to any music but it made no difference. Apparently if my partner is listening the radio that is ok, but if I walk in, she is broadcasting to me and we require a licence. I can’t believe this – I told PRS that I will not pay fees which are in my opinion are just another tax. What is more I will not buy another piece of music from a shop or otherwise.

Enough is enough and come the great day let the PRS be put against the wall and shot for crimes against humanity. Interestingly there is a seperate Ombudsman set up to deal with compaints, but my advise is simple if you get a call from 01425 462793 ignore it because it is just a Fascist Bastard demanding money.

Chris Sabian is an artist with http://www.kutefineart.com and co-owner of http://www.paragonprints.co.uk

About peakdistrictview

The Peak District has everything you need for short breaks, holidays or long stay vacations. Through our 360 degree pano viewing experience take the opportunity to look at the landscape, market towns, and villages of the Peak District that make it such a special place. Discover the hidden gems of the area from the rugged heather clad moorland of the Dark Peak, to the gently rolling dales of the White Peak. Find out about Chatsworth, Alton Towers, Bakewell, Castleton, Peak National Park information, castles, houses, caves, river valleys, reservoirs, heritage sites and much much more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to They will not let me listen to music anymore

  1. Si says:

    Thanks for the tip – just missed a call – now I can block them via caller-ID

Leave a Reply

